Cartoon Review: Lost and Found

Posted: November 21, 2014 in Cartoon Review, Movie, Movie Review
Tags: , , , , , ,

Lost and Found

1

Lost and Found (2008/ Dir. Philip Hunt/ Entertainment One and Studio Aka)
Here is the short version of this review: Go buy this, it’s excellent.

2

Now for a longer story. I have made it no secret that I love both obscure and stupid movies. I have never made it any kind of secret that I love dumb things. As such, I buy DVDs at the drug store, because you can get some really excellent train wrecks at the drug store. Like stuff where the star is slumming and the story is so bad that you think it must have taken out an orphanage when this thing went off the rails. Quite frequently, you can buy one for $6.99 or you can get two for $10, so I tend to get two. When I bought The Smurf Christmas Carol, I also got this. I should have reviewed this. I would have, but Smurf Christmas Carol sent me off the rails a little too hard and I had to lick my wounds.

3

It’s been a year, and now I need something beautiful and therapeutic, and this is it. When I grabbed this, I figured that at worst it would be a waste of time and a slight raise in blood pressure, at best it would be some harmless fun. What I didn’t expect was a perfect little jewel of a movie that made me say “Let’s watch it again.” when it was over. Friends, this is more than I could have hoped for, this is more than exactly what you want, this is exactly what you NEED. I’m not being hyperbolic when I say it is my favorite cartoon from the last year.

4

Based on a book by Oliver Jeffers, Lost and found is a half hour CGI cartoon about a boy and a penguin. There is no dialogue, just a narration by Jim Broadbent. The story involves a penguin showing up at the boy’s house one day in his sea side town, and the boy trying to get the penguin back home. At first he tries to just get rid of the penguin, but finding he can’t he elects to get the penguin to the south pole. Because it’s a children’s book, they can actually do this.

5

The movie is unspecific in detail, deciding for a more universal tone. Anyone, from anywhere, can watch this movie and identify with the boy or the penguin. Although to be honest, it’s not until the end of the story that you actually are given the penguin’s motivation. It doesn’t matter though, because the animation and storytelling are so beautiful that discovering why the penguin came in the first place is part of what makes the whole thing so perfect. I don’t want to spoil anything, this being such a little gem, but suffice to say that the end of the story makes everything worth it.

6

I feel like I don’t recommend things enough, like I too often tell you things to stay away from, today is different. Today I am telling you to go and get this movie. Buy it, watch it, pull it out every autumn and make it an annual tradition. There aren’t many things I would unreservedly say people should watch, but this is one of them. If you haven’t seen this movie, or read this book, then go now. It’ll only cost you a tiny bit of money and even if you don’t like it, there will only be a few minutes of time lost to you. I think you will like it though, I think you’ll find it marvelous and charming. I think if you’ve reviewed as many Christmas Specials as I have, you need something like this to make everything right again. This is something I can just, simply enjoy, even if I’m thinking about it, there is nothing bad or cynical or hateful here, nothing to raise my blood pressure or make me crazy, just a sweet little story about a boy and a penguin, and the fact that I’m using it as a Holiday movie should tell you everything you need to know about it. You can get Lost & Found here, and if you want to read the book you can do that as well. . You should because Oliver Jeffers wrote a great story and could probably feed his family with the money. I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed this thing, go get it.

7
And great Cthulu is in it, how can you not love that?
Official Score:
91 Degrees on the Graffiti Bridge Scale.
Leave a Reply

