Wreck it Ralph Review – In Bullet Point Form!

Posted: November 10, 2012 in Movie Review, Reviews
Tags: , ,

I liked Wreck-It Ralph, let’s talk a little.

1. I thought the opening short was too good. I thought it might diminish the feature. It didn’t, but it was an utterly charming little bit of animation.

2. Going to have to buy this on DVD so I can catch all the little jokes and references they threw in.

3. “She has the most tragic backstory of all time.” That line killed.

4. They did their homework. Even if the people who worked on this are all about my age and as such are gamers from when I was gaming, they did their home work. There are a lot of gags, references, and an overall understanding of how video games work here. These guys knew what they were doing.

5. Most the jokes were funny, most the characters were interesting, most the story works really well.

6. Some of the characters move like their video game counter parts would move. They have no middle animation they just go from their hands out, to their hands raised, just like 8-bit.

7. The one human gamer we really see was a girl… BUT GIRLS DON’T GAME! my mind=blown!

Now, below there will be spoilers.

8. The main villain was a surprise to me, but it shouldn’t have been. I mean, he was only telegraphed from the first 5 minutes of the movie.

9. The romance didn’t surprise me, but I liked it.

10. I liked that they only really visit 3 games for the main plot. More than that, and I think it would have devolved into joke-game fan service. One racer, one first person shooter and one retro game, that’s enough.

Leave a Reply

